What to do when an editor asks for a re-written ending?

So, the email pops into your in-box. ‘I really like your story, but the ending needs more resolution. Could you re-write and send it back?’

This is a ghost story – a story about love letters. Love letters from the past found at the back of a wardrobe by a man’s new girlfriend. I’d wanted to end on a cliff hanger. It felt it gave the story a creepier, what could happen next kind of atmosphere. But, I also realise that I am writing for an audience. That I want my writing to be accepted and published. So I gave some thought about how I could resolve it to both mine and the editor’s satisfaction. And I sent it back.

Today I received an email saying the re-write worked and the story was being accepted for publication, please forward an invoice. And I am happy with the ending.

Fran

Leave a Reply

