Daydreaming and distraction

Writing. That’s what I should be doing. Not reading. Or cooking. Or shopping. Those things need doing too, obviously. Along with picking the kids up from school – that’s an imperative – I don’t want to get a Bad Parent Detention. But now is the time I have set aside for writing. Not gazing out into the garden wondering if my runner beans need staking.

Is daydreaming ever justifiable? I think so. Allowing thoughts to float around, sometimes crash into the sides and formulate into ideas. But there comes a point when daydreams have to be put aside. This one has been going on for weeks now, and I’ve successfully avoided putting finger to keyboard in a creative way for too long.

So, I’m going to pull out one of those ideas, and tease it into something. Something that can be edited, polished, sent to an editor. And then I’ll just have to wait, and daydream again.

Fran

Leave a Reply

